Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards 2019 shortlists announced

Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards 2019 shortlists announced

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) has announced its 2019 shortlists for its annual awards, featuring nominations for novelists Guy Gunaratne, Nicola Mostyn and Mary Lynn Bracht.

Gunaratne was nominated for Best First Novel for Our Mad and Furious City (Guy Gunaratne), also longlisted for the Man Booker; Mostyn  for The Gods of Love (Piatkus); and Bracht for White Chrysanthemum (Chatto & Windus).

Novelist Sarah Waters was also nominated, with screenwriter Lucinda Coxon, for Best Screenplay for the adaptation of her book The Little Stranger (Virago).

The awards will be presented by writer and actor Joanna Scanlan on Monday 14th January, 2019 at the Royal College of Physicians in central London in a ceremony to mark the WGGB’s 60th anniversary. 
WGGB President Olivia Hetreed said:“It feels wonderfully appropriate to kick off the Writers' Guild’s 60th year with a celebration of today's great writers and great writing. Our nomination list displays the originality, inventiveness and dedication of British writers, their willingness to tackle big issues and explore unusual viewpoints whilst offering great entertainment.”

This year’s shortlist features the new category of Best Musical Theatre Bookwriting and a special award for outstanding contribution to writing will also be announced at the ceremony. 

Also on the WGGB 2019 shortlist were nominations for Phoebe Waller-Bridge for "Killing Eve", in the Best Long Form TV Drama category, and Rungano Nyoni For "I Am Not a Witch" (Best First Screenplay).
The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS) is the lead sponsor of the Writers’ Guild Awards this year. Other sponsors include Nick Hern Books, the BBC, ITV, Company Pictures, and Silver Reel.