Dennis, Hoffman and Womack join SoA management committee

Dennis, Hoffman and Womack join SoA management committee

Authors Ferdinand Dennis, Mary Hoffman and Philip Womack have been elected to join the Society of Authors' management committee, which oversees the strategic direction and governance of the organisation.

David Donachie, an author of historical nautical fiction, who is the current chair of the management committee until January, has also been re-elected to serve on the 12-strong committee for another three-year term.

Eight candidates had stood for four positions in the annual elections, with the outcome decided on by votes from 1405 members, administered by Electoral Reform Services.

The newest members of the management committee comprise Dennis, an author, broadcaster, journalist and lecturer, who has authored three novels and two travelogues, one of which won the Martin Luther King Memorial Prize, and Hoffman, the author of 120 books, mostly for children and teenagers, who has already served SoA as a former chair of the Children’s Writers and Illustrators Group. Womack is a journalist and fantasy author, who also has a background in law and teaching. 

They join Eric Clark, Daniel Hahn, Joanne Harris, Alex Klaushofer, Janet Laurence, Carol Lee, Charles Palliser and Celia Rees onthe committee.

Members standing down are Peter Groves and Lucinda Hawksley, who were thanked by SoA for the "experience and passion" they brought to the unpaid roles since 2014.