Crossan and Rosen shortlisted for poetry award

Crossan and Rosen shortlisted for poetry award

Sarah Crossan, Michael Rosen and Roger McGough are amongst the authors shortlisted for this year’s CLiPPA award for children’s poetry.

The CLiPPA (The Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award) is the only prize for children’s poetry in the UK and is run by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE).

Crossan [pictured]  is shortlisted for her YA verse novel One, which is also in the running for The Bookseller's YA Book Prize 2016 and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2016 (Bloomsbury Children’s). Rosen is on the list for A Great Big Cuddle, a collection of poems for young children illustrated by Chris Riddell (Walker), whilst McGough is there for his book Poetry Pie, which is about food (Puffin).

Also shortlisted this year are John Lyons’ Dancing in the Rain (Peepal Tree Press), which is about the poet’s Trinidadian childhood, and Falling Out of the Sky, Poems about Myths and Monsters, edited by Rachel Piercey and Emma Wright (The Emma Press).

John Hegley, poet and chair of this year’s judges, said: “The judging process was a celebration of delight in the volumes which were laid out before us. The particular five of our choosing are a bunch which show poetry for youngsters to be busily alive and ticking. ”

Louise Johns-Shepherd, chief executive of CLPE, said: “The CLiPPA exists to recognise the very best in published children's poetry and to support teachers and schools across the country to include the creative study of poetry in their classrooms. This shortlist exemplifies such a range and breadth of wonderful poetry for all age ranges and we are looking forward to celebrating this remarkable collection of books with the children from schools across the country who will be shadowing the award. “

The winner, who will receive a £1,000 prize, will be announced at a ceremony in London on 13th July.

Last year, performance poet Joseph Coelho won the 2015 prize for his first collection of poems Werewolf Club Rules!, illustrated by John O’Leary and published by Frances Lincoln.