Burnside to chair T S Eliot Prize judging panel

Burnside to chair T S Eliot Prize judging panel

Award-winning poet John Burnside will chair this year’s T S Eliot Prize judging panel.

Fellow poets Sarah Howe and Nick Makoha will join Burnside (all pictured below), who won the 2011 T S Eliot Prize, on the panel, looking for the best new poetry collection written in English and published in 2019.

Burnside said: “I take it as a great honour and an even greater responsibility to act as chair for this year’s T S Eliot Prize and I very much look forward to working with my fellow judges, Sarah Howe and Nick Makoha, on what promises to be a rich vintage of profoundly musical, vitally engaged and inventive poetry.” 

The call for submissions will go out in June, with the submission window closing in early August.
The 2019 T S Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings will take place on Sunday 12th January 2020 at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall. 
The winner if the £25,000 prize will be announced on Monday 13th January 2020. 

Last year Hannah Sullivan won the prize for her "astonishing" debut collection Three Poems (Faber).