Doyle and O'Neill on Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award longlist

Doyle and O'Neill on Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award longlist

Roddy Doyle and Joseph O'Neill have been longlisted for the £30,000 Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award.

The 17-strong longlist includes writers from Pakistan, the Bahamas and Zambia, alongside six entries from Ireland and five from the US.

"The Curfew" by Roddy Doyle and "The Flier" by Joseph O’Neill are among the nominatees. The full longlist also features: "You get what is yours" by Dur e Aziz Amna; "Flowers and their meanings" by Marie-Helene Bertino; "Love Many" by Niamh Campbell; "Brown Ford Cortina" by Leo Cullen; "Single Sit" by Edward Hogan; "Sparing the Heather" by Louise Kennedy; "Cut" by Catherine Lacey; "A Mother's Dilemma" by Victor Lodato; "Waiting" by Mel O’Doherty: "Simon" by Daniel O’Malley; "Take It" by Namwali Serpell; "Without Seeming to Care at all" by Max Sydney Smith; "Harpies" by Dizz Tate; "Granma's Porch" by Alexia Tolas; and "Teamwork" by Shawn Vestal.

The judging panel comprises novelist and short-story writer Carys Davies; prize-winning author Diana Evans; novelist and screen writer David Nicholls and short-story writer and novelist Romesh Gunesekera. Andrew Holgate, literary editor of the Sunday Times, completes the line-up.

Holgate said: "Two of the great strengths of the Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award have always been its breadth, and its ability to uncover surprising new names. And this year's shortlist reflects both of those qualities, with new countries, from Africa and the Caribbean, featured for the first time on the longlist, and a clutch of really exciting new voices sitting alongside some very well-known international names.

This is a very strong longlist. But what's most striking about the 17 names listed here is the predominance, for a second year in a row, of writers from two countries with some of the strongest traditions in short fiction, Ireland and the USA.”

The winner will receive £30,000, and the five other shortlisted writers will each receive £1,000. The shortlist will be announced on 7th June, with the winner revealed on 2nd July. 

Last year's award was won by Danielle McLaughlin for "A Partial List of the Saved"