Theakston's to honour P D James

Theakston's to honour P D James

P D James will receive the second Theakston's Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award, with debut novelist William Ryan and bestseller Lee Child among those to make the shortlist for this year's Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award.

James began writing in the 1950s, and said the Outstanding Contribution award "means a great deal to me". She will be presented with the award on 21st July on the opening night of the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. James is published by Faber.

The £3,000 Crime Novel of the Year prize will be awarded on the same night by radio broadcaster Mark Lawson, with the shortlist, voted for by the public, comprising: From the Dead by Mark Billingham (Sphere); Blood Harvest by S J Bolton (Corgi Books); 61 Hours by Lee Child (Bantam Books); Dark Blood by Stuart MacBride (Harper Fiction); The Holy Thief by William Ryan (Pan Books); and The Anatomy of Ghosts by Andrew Taylor (Michael Joseph).

Simon Theakston, executive director of T&R Theakston, said: "I'm delighted to see that the public have recognised the talents of a broad range of authors in this year's shortlist, from a debut novelist to names that have been bestsellers for several years . . .

"We are also hugely honoured and excited to welcome the crime fiction grandmaster P D James to Harrogate this year, to collect her Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award. Few are as prolific as she, dominating the genre for over 50 years. This award acknowledges that immense achievement."

Previous winners of the Crime Novel of the Year prize include Lazy Bones by Mark Billingham (Sphere, 2005) and The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney (Quercus, 2008).