Rolling Stones and Wiley compete for Penderyn Music Book Prize

Rolling Stones and Wiley compete for Penderyn Music Book Prize

Books from The Rolling Stones and "Godfather of Grime" Wiley will compete for the Penderyn Music Book Prize 2018.

The longlist, which comprises both Penguin Random House's The Rolling Stones: On Air in the Sixties by Richard Havers & The Rolling Stones (Ebury) and Eskiboy by Wiley (Heinemann), spans memoirs, biographies, histories and theories, and recognises books on a variety of musical genres ranging from skiffle to folk.

Faber published a third of nominees on the longlist. Its five of the 15 longlisted titles are: Roots, Radicals and Rockers: How Skiffle Changed the World by Billy Bragg, First Time Ever: A Memoir by Peggy Seeger, Meet Me In The Bathroom: Rebirth and Rock and Roll in New York City 2001 - 2011 by Lizzy Goodman, Art Sex Music by Cosey Fanni Tutti and Folk Song In England by Steve Roud.

Fellow independent publishers Canongate and Pluto meanwhile have a book each in the running, Sticky Fingers: The Life and Times of Jann Wenner and Rolling Stone Magazine by Joe Hagan (Canongate) and Sound System: The Political Power of Music by Dave Randall (Pluto).

Specialist music publishers Jawbone and Omnibus - the latter which claims to be the world's largest specialist publisher of music-related books - each hold one spot on the longlist with Fearless: The Making of Post-Rock by Jeanette Leech (Jawbone) and Grant & I: Inside and Outside the Go-Betweens by Robert Forster (Omnibus).

Rounding off the longlist are Some Fantastic Place: My Life In and Out of Squeeze by Chris Difford (Weidenfeld & Nicholson), Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul by Stuart Cosgrove (Polygon), Lou Reed: A Life by Anthony DeCurtis (John Murray) and Uncommon People: The Rise and Fall of the Rock Stars 1955 - 1994 by David Hepworth (Transworld).

The shortlist will be revealed in early March and the winner announced at The Laugharne Weekend festival on Sunday 8th April 2018.

The judging panel for the prize, sponsored by Welsh whisky company Penderyn, comprises: bass guitarist, singer, poet and composer Jah Wobble, formerly of Public Image Ltd (PiL); writer and broadcaster Laura Barton; percussionist and producer James Sclavunos; broadcaster and author Gemma Cairney; vocalist James Williamson, one half of The Sleaford Mods; and comedian Simon Day, best known for his characters on "The Fast Show".