Oneworld acquires new novel by Paul Lynch

Oneworld acquires new novel by Paul Lynch

Juliet Mabey, publisher at Oneworld, has bought a new novel by Irish writer Paul Lynch.

Beyond the Sea, Lynch’s fourth novel and the first to be set outside his home country of Ireland, is about two South American fisherman who are cast adrift in the Pacific Ocean. The two men must come to terms with their environment, and each other, if they are to survive.

Mabey acquired British and Commonwealth rights from Simon Trewin at William Morris Endeavor and will publish in August 2019.

Oneworld also published Lynch’s previous novel Grace, which won the 2018 Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction.

Speaking about Beyond the Sea, Mabey said: “This is a gripping and redemptive tale that sits squarely in the tradition of Camus, Joyce, Becket & McCarthy. Readers and reviewers were captivated by the language in Grace, which was described by the Sunday Times as ‘bold, grandiose, mesmeric’, and for Paul’s evocative descriptions of the Irish landscape. For this new story Paul has moved from land to sea with all the beauty and merciless power that comes with that. I can’t wait for people to read it.”