Mo Siewcharran Prize shortlist revealed

Mo Siewcharran Prize shortlist revealed

The Mo Siewcharran Prize shortlist has been revealed featuring unpublished fiction writers from Black, Asian and minority ethnic backgrounds. 

Run by Hachette UK, the nominations have whittled down to He Doesn’t Live Here Anymore by Santanu Bhattacharya, Jimmy the Food Thief by Rose Chen, Bellies by Nicola Dinan along with Ndelei by Memuna Konteh, The Places We Will Go by Andres Ordorica and Bethnal Green by Amelie Skoda. 

The initiative, named in memory of Nielsen Book’s former director of marketing and communications (pictured), aims to nurture talent from underrepresented backgrounds writing in English and offers the chance to be published by the Little, Brown and Abacus imprints. It was launched in 2019

The shortlist was decided by executive publisher for literary Clare Smith, publisher Richard Beswick, and publishing director Anna Kelly alongside the inaugural prize-winner Sarvat Hasin, agent Sophie Lambert and Ebyan Egal, co-chair of THRIVE — Hachette’s Black, Asian and minority ethnic employee network. 

Smith said: “We all loved reading the rich and varied longlist and had a fantastically interesting and wide-ranging judges’ meeting to agree the shortlist. It’s been a privilege to be part of the Mo Siewcharran Prize this year and thank you to all the judges involved especially Sarvat Hasin, winner of the inaugural prize, and Sophie Lambert of C+W.” 

The winner, second and third place will be announced at a ceremony at Hachette’s London office, Carmelite House, on 29th September. The winner will receive £2,500 prize money plus the offer of a publishing deal, subject to contract, while second placed writers will get £1,500 alongside a book hamper. Third place receives £750 plus a hamper of books.  

Further details can be found on the competition website.