Koomson, Pickering and Boldwood Books among winners at RNA Industry Awards

Koomson, Pickering and Boldwood Books among winners at RNA Industry Awards

Dorothy Koomson, Juliet Pickering and Boldwood Books are among the winners of the Romantic Novelists’ Association annual Industry Awards.

This year's ceremony was back in person, held at the Leonardo Royal Hotel in London tonight (28th October). 

Koomson (pictured) was awarded the Inclusion Award for her work supporting new writers and "The Happy Author" podcast, which aims to to demystify the publishing industry. Pickering, an agent and director at Blake Friedmann Literary Agency, won Agent of the Year, while Boldwood Books won Publisher of the Year. 

Harbour Bookshop in Devon scooped Romantic Bookseller of the Year and Michelle Watson, reader development librarian at Northumberland Libraries, won Librarian of the Year. 

This year saw four new categories introduced to recognise the best narrator, named cover designer, indie editor and indie champion of the year. The respective winners were Annie Aldington, Lisa Firth, Debi Alper and the Alliance of Independent Authors. Blogger Rachel Gilbey was named Media Star of the Year.

Laura James, the RNA Industry Awards organiser, said: "The statements accompanying each nomination, which the RNA membership provide, highlight the talent, care and excellence the industry professionals put into supporting and promoting romantic fiction. Compiling the shortlists was not easy. I look forward to celebrating the success of all the nominees, and offer my sincere congratulations to the award winners in what was a bumper year.”