Foyles and CCV pick up nibbies

<p>London bookseller Foyles and Random House division CCV were the big winners at the British Book Industry Awards, held last night at the end of the Booksellers Association Annual Conference. Foyles was named the Bowker UK Bookseller of the Year, with outgoing vice chairman Bill Samuel delivering an emotional acceptance speech. Foyles was also named the <em>Publishing News</em> chain of the year.</p><p>Richard Cable collected the prize as CCV was named KPMG Publisher of the Year. He saluted CCV&#39;s record sales and profits in 2007, which included 12 literary awards. CCV was entered as separate company by its parent Random House, follow the decision to split CCV and CHA last year.</p><p>Quercus picked up the independent publisher gong, while Mr B&#39;s Emporium of Reading Delights, won the independent bookshop prize.</p><p>Clarissa Dickson Wright won the BA/Nielsen Book Author of the Year. </p><p><br /><strong>Full list of trade nibbie winners:</strong></p><p>Award: BA/Nielsen Book Author of the Year<br />Winner: Clarissa Dickson Wright<br />Presented by: Ann Betts<br /><br />Award: Frankfurt Book Fair Rights Professional of the Year<br />Winner: Diane Spivey (Little, Brown)<br />Presented by: Clarissa Dickson Wright<br /><br />Award: Orion Publishing Group Literary Agent of the Year<br />Winner: David Miller (Rogers, Coleridge &amp; White)<br />Presented by: Clarissa Dickson Wright<br /><br />Award: Booksellers Association New Bookshop of the Year<br />Winner: Mostly Books, Abingdon<br />Presented by: Tracey Chevalier<br /><br />Award: Sue Butterworth Award for Young Bookseller of the Year, sponsored by HarperCollins<br />Winner: Craig Hillier (WHSmith Travel)<br />Presented by: Victoria Barnsley<br /><br />Award: StoraEnso Design &amp; Production Award<br />Winner: The End of Mr Y (Canongate)<br />Presented by: Penny Vincenzi<br /><br />Award: Baker Tilly Imprint &amp; Editor of the Year<br />Winner: Jonathan Cape, Robin Robertson<br />Presented by: Penny Vincenzi<br /><br />Award: decibel Cultural Diversity Award<br />Winner: Verna Wilkins, Tamarind<br />Presented by: Anne Diamond<br /><br />Award: The Guardian Marketing Campaign of the Year<br />Winner: Jessica Mead, Young Stalin<br />Presented by: Anne Diamond<br /><br />Award: Midas Public Relations Publicity Campaign of the Year <br />Winner: Emma Knight and Tara Gladden (Hodder &amp; Stoughton), First Among Sequels<br />Presented by: Jane Mays<br /><br />Award: Aurum Press Independent Bookshop of the Year<br />Winner: Mr B&rsquo;s Emporium of Reading Delights, Bath<br />Presented by: Bill McCreadie<br /><br />Award: Lightning Source Independent Publisher of the Year<br />Winner: Quercus<br />Presented by: Robyn Young<br /><br />Award: Nielsen Book Award for Innovation in the Book Industry<br />Winner: Snowbooks XSL Project <br />Presented by: Kate Mosse<br /><br />Award: Vista Award for Industry Achievement<br />Winner: Will Atkinson, Faber and Faber<br />Presented by Kate Mosse<br /><br />Award: Harlequin Mills &amp; Boon Direct Bookselling Company of the Year<br />Winner:<br />Presented: by John Connolly<br /><br />Award: Publishing News Chain Bookselling Company of the Year<br />Winner: Foyles<br />Presented by: John Connolly<br /><br />Award: Bowker UK Bookseller of the Year<br />Winner: Foyles<br />Presented by: Simon Juden<br /><br />Award: KPMG Publisher of the Year<br />Winner: CCV (Random House)<br />Presented by: Tim Godfray</p>