Costello and Smith shortlisted for Penderyn Music Prize

Costello and Smith shortlisted for Penderyn Music Prize

Memoirs by Patti Smith and Elvis Costello have been shortlisted for the Penderyn Music Book Prize, the only UK-based book prize specifically for music titles.

Joining Smith’s M Train (Bloomsbury) and Costello’s Unfaithful Music and Disappearing Ink (Viking) on the shortlist is Electric Shock: From Gramophone to the iPhone – 125 Years of Pop Music (Bodley Head) by Peter Doggett, 1966: The Year The Decade Explored (Faber) by Jon Savage, Detroit 67: The Year that Changed Soul (Stuart Cosgrove) by Stuart Cosgrove and Naked at the Albert Hall: The Inside Story of Singing (Virago) by Tracey Thorn.

Richard Thomas, the prize founder, said: “It was an incredibly strong and varied longlist which went from traditional biographies to specific years, to songwriting royalities and the joys of working in a record shop. I read and enjoyed all the books and was very relieved that I did not have to be a judge.”

Stuart Maconie, broadcaster and judge, said: “It was great music writing almost as much as great music that inspired me as a teenager and made me want to write myself. In Britain, we can rightly boast of some of the finest writing in this field in the world; not just scholarly and learned, but witty, impassioned and insightful. The Penderyn Prize is a very welcome celebration of this.”

Judging the prize alongside Maconie is broadcaster and author, Annie Nightingale; journalist, Mark Ellen; musician Green Gartside; actor and writer, Robin Ince; and music critic, Jude Rogers.

The winner will be announced at the Laugharne Weekend Festival on 3rd April 2016.