Bonnier revs up promotion for Jenson Button book

Bonnier revs up promotion for Jenson Button book

Bonnier Books UK is revving up for a “next level” immersive event to promote Jenson Button’s second book, How to be an F1 Driver.

Imprint Blink aims to host 800 fans at the Silverstone Motor Circuit for the book launch on Saturday (19th October) which will feature a Q&A between Button and Chairman of the British Racing Drivers’ Club John Grant. Attendees will be able to test their skills behind the wheel on F1 driving simulators. The launch, which kicks off a high-impact Q4 campaign, will be supported by WH Smith events and will be hosted by Sky Sports presenter Natalie Pinkham as well as being covered by the channel.

Lisa Hoare, Bonnier Books UK communications director for adult non-fiction, said: “We wanted to create a great experience for fans of Jenson and Formula 1 - what better place to hold his launch event than at the home of British motor racing! With the combination of the famous Silverstone Motor Circuit, an introduction from John Grant, Sky Sports Natalie Pinkham as host, exclusive content being filmed for Sky Sports, F1 simulators – and of course – Jenson Button himself, we’re taking this event to the next level.”

Publisher Matthew Phillips said: “Jenson’s new book is funny, fresh and fascinating. He takes you inside what it’s really like to be an F1 driver – not just the bits you see on screen, but all the rest that you’ve always wanted to know about – the parties, the lifestyle, the fashion faux pas – it’s all there. And what better place to get even closer to life in the fast lane than at Silverstone, where Jenson’s event will kickstart an incredible campaign for a superb book.”

Phillips acquired world all language rights from David Luxton Associates for How To Be An F1 Driver from Button earlier this year. The book will be published in hardback on Thursday 17th October. Jenson’s first book, Life to the Limit (Blink), racked up 138,580 paperback and hardback sales for £1.4million, outselling every book in the 2017 sports category.

Button has raced in Formula 1 for the last 17 years, winning 15 grands prix. He currently competes in the Japanese Super GT Series driving for Team Kunimitsu, and took the championship title in 2018.