The YA Book Prize is now in its second year. Launched in 2014, it awards any YA title written by an author living in the UK or Ireland.

It is the first UK and Ireland prize to specifically focus on fiction for young adults and addresses an important unmet need for a prize in the growing YA and teen market. The prize celebrates great books for teenagers and young adults and aims to get more teens reading and buying books. 

UKYA anthology

This year the YA Book Prize partnered with Little Tiger’s fiction imprint, Stripes, to find an unpublished writer to contribute a story to I'll Be Home for Christmas, Stripes' UKYA anthology to mark its 10th anniversary. The anthology will raise money for homeless charity Crisis.

Contributors to the book include Stripes author Katy Cannon and fellow YA authors Holly Bourne, Cat Clarke, Melvin Burgess, Julie Mayhew, Benjamin Zephaniah, Tom Becker, Non Pratt, Juno Dawson, Marcus Sedgwick and competition winner Tracy Darnton.

At least £1 from every book sold will go to Crisis.

The book’s endnotes contain information about the Young Adult Literature Convention (YALC), including details about its formation. The endnotes also include information about YA Book Prize and the authors shortlisted for the award in 2016.

I’ll be Home for Christmas is published in paperback on 22nd September, priced £7.99.

Further information on the YA Book Prize

How to enter

Submissions are now closed.

The winner of the YA Book Prize will be announced at the Hay Festival on 2nd June.

Terms and conditions

The 2016 prize is open to a YA fiction title first published in print form in the UK or Ireland between 1st January 2015 and 31st December 2015. The author must have been living in the UK or Ireland for at least six months prior to publication.

Submissions are only accepted from publishing houses.

Books with more than one author are eligible as long as all authors are resident in the UK or Ireland.

All books entered must have a registered ISBN number or equivalent.

Self-published titles, non-fiction and graphic novels are not eligible.

All books must be first published in either hardback or paperback in 2015. Books published in paperback in 2015 that were previously published in hardback in 2014 or earlier are not eligible.

If a book is shortlisted, the publisher will commit to contributing £1,750 per shortlisted title to marketing and promotion costs. The publisher will also send 10 more copies of the shortlisted title to the Bookseller.

Publishers can enter no more than four titles per imprint or publishing house.

If you have any further enquiries, please email: charlotte.eyre@thebookseller.com

The YA Book Prize on social media