YA Book Prize 2021 Home










Welcome to the YA Book Prize 2021

The YA Book Prize 2021 shortlist is here! The 10 brilliant books in the running to win this year's overall £2,000 award are:

  • Wranglestone by Darren Charlton (published by Little Tiger)
  • Good Girl, Bad Blood by Holly Jackson (published by Electric Monkey)
  • And the Stars Were Burning Brightly by Danielle Jawando (published by Simon & Schuster Children's Books)
  • Eight Pieces of Silva by Patrice Lawrence (published by Hodder Children's Books)
  • Loveless by Alice Oseman (published by HarperCollins Children's Books)
  • The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff (published by Bloomsbury)
  • Melt My Heart by Bethany Rutter (published by Macmillan Children's Books)
  • Hold Back the Tide by Melinda Salisbury (published by Scholastic UK)
  • Cane Warriors by Alex Wheatle (published by Andersen Press)
  • A Snowfall of Silver by Laura Wood (published by Scholastic UK)

Find out more about the shortlisted books and authors, and read the first chapter of each book for free, here. You can also take part it in our YA Book Prize shortlist reading challenge on StoryGraph here.

This year, we are also awarding the third ever YA Book Prize Special Achievement Award to the Queen of UK YA, Malorie Blackman, to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the first novel in her seminal YA series, Noughts & Crosses. During her 30-year career as an author, Malorie has inspired generations of young readers, not only through her own writing, but also during her time as Children’s Laureate, which saw the founding of the UK’s first Young Adult Literature Convention. 

We know you love YA fiction so our aim is to showcase the best YA from the UK and Ireland, awarding the YA Book Prize every year to a novel that our expert judges, including young people, think is something special. 

Previous winners include Louise O'Neill's Only Ever Yours (2015), Sarah Crossan's One (2016), Patrice Lawrence's Orangeboy (2017), Will Hill's After the Fire (2018) and Sara Barnard's Goodbye, Perfect (2019). The most recent YA Book Prize winner was Meat Market by Juno Dawson, a “gritty and compelling” exposé of the fashion industry. 

You can sign up to our YA Book Prize mailing list here and follow our social media channels by clicking on the icons below: