Tagged: Jhalak Prize

Eddo-Lodge and Millwood Hargrave make Jhalak Prize shortlist

Authors Reni Eddo-Lodge and Kiran Millwood Hargrave have made the cut for the 2018 Jhalak Prize shortlist. Read more

Independent presses dominate Jhalak Prize longlist

Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Reni Eddo-Lodge are some of the authors in the running for the Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a... Read more

Byrne and Chok join Jhalak Prize judges

Authors Sunny Singh and Catherine Johnson are returning to the judging panel for the second Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year By a Writer... Read more

Indies are doing the 'heavy lifting', says Jhalak Prize founder

The founders of the Jhalak Prize have said that smaller publishers are doing the “heavy lifting” when it comes to publishing “new, brave and unusual... Read more

Tory MP makes 'discrimination' complaint over Jhalak Prize

Conservative MP Philip Davies complained to the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) that the Jhalak Prize unlawfully discriminated against white people, it has emerged.... Read more

Jacob Ross wins inaugural Jhalak Prize

Jacob Ross has won the inaugural Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour for his crime novel The Bone Readers (Peepal Tree).... Read more

Indies strong on first Jhalak Prize shortlist

Titles from independents Faber, Peepal Tree Press, Chicken House and Jacaranda feature on the inaugural shortlist for the Jhalak Prize for a Book of the... Read more

Khorsandi withdrew from Jhalak Prize for fear of 'alienating' audience

Shappi Khorsandi has expanded on the reasons for her decision to withdraw Nina is Not OK (Ebury) from the Jhalak Prize longlist, saying she wants her writing to be... Read more

Singh slams 'pathetic' British publishers for lack of submissions to BAME prize

Sunny Singh, author and chair of judges for the Jhalak Prize, has called the efforts of British publishers "pathetic" due to the "shockingly low" submissions... Read more

Inaugural Jhalak Prize open for submissions

The Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour is now accepting submissions for its inaugural prize. Read more

Subscribe to RSS - Jhalak Prize