Tagged: Desmond Elliott Prize

Taneja, Sodha and Gleeson to judge Desmond Elliott Prize

Preti Taneja, Sonia Sodha and Sinéad Gleeson will judge this year’s £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize Read more

Desmond Elliott Prize to be run by National Centre for Writing

The £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize will be run by the National Centre for Writing (NCW) in Norwich with a new programme of support for a... Read more

Adam wins Desmond Elliott Prize for 'electrifying' debut Golden Child

Claire Adam has won the £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize for first-time novelists with her "electrifying" debut Golden Child (Faber). Read more

Adam, Donkor and Mackmin make 2019 Desmond Elliott Prize shortlist

Claire Adam, Michael Donkor and Anna Mackmin have all made the 2019 Desmond Elliott Prize shortlist for debut novelists, with the winner in line for £10,000.... Read more

Salt and Fourth Estate lead Desmond Elliott longlist

Bookseller Samuel Fisher’s debut novel The Chameleon is one of two Salt titles longlisted for the £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize, with HarperCollins imprint Fourth Estate also... Read more

Desmond Elliott Prize winner Taneja calls for more bravery in publishing

Preti Taneja, whose Desmond Elliott Prize-winning book was "roundly rejected" by mainstream publishers on submission, has criticised large presses for a lack of bravery and vision and encouraged them to engage with... Read more

'Awe-inspiring' debut wins Desmond Elliott Prize after being snubbed by publishers

Preti Taneja has won the £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize for her "awe-inspiring" retelling of King Lear, We That Are Young.... Read more

Finalists Honeyman, Cocozza and Taneja to compete for 2018's Desmond Elliott Prize

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (HarperCollins) by Gail Honeyman is one of three books in the running for the 2018 Desmond Elliott Prize for first-time novelists, alongside Paula... Read more

Honeyman and Rooney make Desmond Elliott longlist

Gail Honeyman, Sally Rooney and Preti Taneja are among the "powerful array of distinctive voices" on this year's Desmond Elliott Prize longlist.  Read more

Desmond Elliott Prize longlists Spufford, de Waal and Buchanan

Titles by Francis Spufford, Kit de Waal and Rowan Hisayo Buchanan have been longlisted for the £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize for first-time novelists.... Read more

Subscribe to RSS - Desmond Elliott Prize