Welcome to The Bookseller Podcast

The monthly podcast for book lovers

Introducing The Bookseller's monthly podcast, hosted by acclaimed author Cathy Rentzenbrink. From interviews with award winning authors to the latest reviews and book recommendations, our unique place at the heart of publishing means The Bookseller Podcast has something for every book lover.

Each month, we will deliver a variety of bookish delights for you to consume – wherever the mood takes you. Whether you’re commuting, listening at work, or relaxing at home, take The Bookseller Podcast with you.

Listen to Episode #8

Hear from the Book Doctors

Get advice from the bookselling experts! Ask The Book Doctors their recommendations for your next read by filling in this simple form.

books featured in episode eight

  • Sweet Sorrow

    by David Nicholls

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction, Non-fiction 
    Imprint:
    Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
    Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
    Publication date: 11 Jul 2019
    ISBN: 9781444715408

    The major new novel from David Nicholls.

    Read reviews for this book.

  • Expectation

    by Anna Hope

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction, Family & Health, Non-fiction 
    Imprint:
    Doubleday
    Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
    Publication date: 11 Jul 2019
    ISBN: 9780857524904

    EXPECTATION is a novel of the highs and lows of friendship - how it can dip, dive and rise again. Most of all, it explores that liminal space between expectation and reality, the place - full of dreams, desires and pain - in which we all live our lives.

    Read reviews for this book.

  • Kindred

    by Octavia Butler

    Category: Science Fiction, Fiction 
    Imprint:
    Headline Book Publishing
    Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
    Publication date: 3 May 2018
    ISBN: 9781472258229

    Octavia E. Butler's masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale.

  • Homing

    by Jon Day

    Category: Non-fiction, Biography & Memoirs 
    Imprint:
    John Murray Publishers Ltd
    Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
    Publication date: 11 Jun 2019
    ISBN: 9781473635388

    A feral history of home, and our relationship with that most unloved bird.

    Read reviews for this book.

  • Becoming Dinah

    by Kit de Waal

    Category: Children's 
    Imprint:
    Orion Children's Books
    Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
    Publication date: 11 Jul 2019
    ISBN: 9781510105706

    A YA coming-of-age road trip novel about obsession, self-discovery, female power, and the people we meet along the way - by Costa Award shortlisted author Kit de Waal. The perfect read for anyone who's ever wondered where they came from and where they might be going next.

     

  • The Heartland

    by Nathan Filer

    Category: Family & Health, Non-fiction 
    Imprint: Faber & Faber
    Publisher: Faber & Faber
    Publication date: 6 Jun 2019
    ISBN: 9780571345953

     

    He also invites us to spend time with world-leading experts, and with some extraordinary people who share their own stories - true stories - about living with this strange and misunderstood condition. Along the way, he helps us open our minds to new ways of thinking about mental health, about each other, and about ourselves.

    Read reviews for this book.

  • Adventures in Human Being

    by Gavin Francis

    Category: Non-fiction 
    Imprint:
    Wellcome Collection
    Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
    Publication date: 4 Feb 2016
    ISBN: 9781781253427

    Both a user's guide to the body and a celebration of its elegance, this book will transform the way you think about being alive, whether in sickness or in health. Published in association with the Wellcome Collection.

     

     

  • London Rules

    by Mick Herron

    Category: Thrillers, Fiction 
    Imprint:
    John Murray Publishers Ltd
    Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
    Publication date: 9 Aug 2018
    ISBN: 9781473657403

    The fifth Jackson Lamb novel from the 'new king of the spy thriller' (Mail on Sunday)

  • A Modern Way to Cook

    by Anna Jones

    Category: Food & Drink, Non-fiction 
    Imprint:
    Fourth Estate Ltd
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    Publication date: 16 Jul 2015
    ISBN: 9780008124496

    From the author of the brilliant A Modern Way to Eat, a new collection of delicious, healthy, inspiring vegetarian recipes - that are so quick to make they're achievable on any night of the week.

     

     

  • An American Marriage

    by Tayari Jones

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction 
    Imprint: Algonquin Books (division of Workman)
    Publisher: Algonquin Books (division of Workman)
    Publication date: 6 Feb 2018
    ISBN: 9781616201340


    Publication date: 6 Feb 2018
    ISBN: 9781616201340

    "Newlyweds Celestial and Roy, the living embodiment of the New South, are settling into the routine of their life together when Roy is sent to prison for a crime he didn't commit. An insightful look into the lives of people who are bound and separated by forces beyond their control"

    Read reviews for this book.

  • An Ocean of Minutes

    by Thea Lim

    Category: Romance, Fiction 
    Imprint:
    Quercus Publishing
    Publisher: Quercus Publishing
    Publication date: 26 Jun 2018
    ISBN: 9781786487919

    What would you give to recover the past? In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Station Eleven, a bittersweet and unforgettable love story of a couple who are at once weeks and many years apart.

     

  • Crewe Train

    by Rose Macaulay

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction 
    Imprint:
    Virago Press Ltd
    Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
    Publication date: 8 Feb 2018
    ISBN: 9780349010021

    Crewe Train is a witty and thought-provoking satire on London life in the 1920s.

  • Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

    by Andrew Miller

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction 
    Imprint:
    Sceptre
    Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
    Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
    ISBN: 9781444784695

    By the Costa Award-winning author of PURE, a stunning historical novel - the tale of a traumatised soldier on a journey in search of peace, which turns into a nail-biting hunt to the death.

    Read reviews for this book.

  • The Carer

    by Deborah Moggach

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction 
    Imprint: Tinder Press
    Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
    Publication date: 9 Jul 2019
    ISBN: 9781472260482

    From the bestselling author of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and Tulip Fever, a deliciously waspish, witty and poignant novel of age, sibling rivalry and having to grow up - at last.

    Read reviews for this book.

  • Me Before You

    by Jojo Moyes

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction 
    Imprint: Penguin Books Ltd
    Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
    Publication date: 5 Jan 2012
    ISBN: 9780718157838

    Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn't know is she's about to lose her job or that knowing what's coming is what keeps her sane.

     

  • One Day

    by David Nicholls

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction 
    Imprint: Hodder Paperback
    Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
    Publication date: 4 Feb 2010
    ISBN: 9780340896983

    ONE DAY is the multi-million copy bestselling novel that brilliantly captures the experiences of a generation.

     

     

  • Normal People

    by Sally Rooney

    Category: General & Literary Fiction, Fiction, Romance 
    Imprint: Faber & Faber
    Publisher: Faber & Faber
    Publication date: 29 Aug 2018
    ISBN: 9780571347292

    When they both earn places at Trinity College in Dublin, a connection that has grown between them lasts long into the following years. This is an exquisite love story about how a person can change another person's life - a simple yet profound realisation that unfolds beautifully over the course of the novel.

    View reviews for this book.

  • Greenfeast

    by Nigel Slater

    Category: Food & Drink, Non-fiction 
    Imprint:
    Fourth Estate Ltd
    Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
    Publication date: 16 May 2019
    ISBN: 9780008333355

    The first in a pair of fast, season-led vegetable books from beloved author and cook Nigel Slater.

  • Three Women

    by Lisa Taddeo

    Category: Non-fiction, Current Affairs 
    Imprint:
    Bloomsbury Circus
    Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
    Publication date: 9 Jul 2019
    ISBN: 9781526611635

    All Lina wanted was to be desired. How did she end up in a marriage with two children and a husband who wouldn't touch her? All Maggie wanted was to be understood. How did she end up in a relationship with her teacher and then in court, a hated pariah in her small town? All Sloane wanted was to be admired. How did she end up a sexual object of men, including her husband, who liked to watch her have sex with other men and women? Three Women is a record of unmet needs, unspoken thoughts, disappointments, hopes and unrelenting obsessions.

    Read reviews for this book.

     

  • The Language of Kindness: A Nurse's Story

    by Christie Watson

    Category: Biography & Memoirs, Non-fiction 
    Imprint: Chatto & Windus
    Publisher: Vintage Publishing
    Publication date: 3 May 2018
    ISBN: 9781784741976

    THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER*A Guardian, Sunday Times, Daily Telegraph and New Statesman Book of the Year 2018*BBC Radio 4 Book of the WeekAn astonishing memoir about nursing and an urgent call for compassion and kindness `It made me cry.

    Read reviews for this book.

     

Production

The Bookseller Podcast is a Heavy Entertainment Production.