WHS campaign for Theakstons crime award kicks off

W H Smith's promotion of the 2013 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award longlist has launched in stores today, with titles including The Affair by Lee Child, Simon Kernick's Siege and Mark Billingham's Rush of Blood making the selection.

WHS' promotion of the longlist will run for four weeks until 6th June across 600 stores, with a campaign also happening across 80 library services.

Lisa Ballantyne is the only debut author on the list, with her novel The Guilty One (Piatkus) competing against works by other well-known names including S J Parris's Sacrilege, Stuart MacBride's Birthdays for the Dead (Harper), Not Dead Yet by Peter James (Macmillan) and Finders Keepers by Belinda Bauer (Transworld).

A shortlist of six titles will be announced on 4th July, with the overall winner to be decided by a panel of experts including festival chair Val McDermid and head of fiction at WHS, Dave Swillman, as well as a public vote.

The winner of the £3,000 prize will be announced by title sponsor Simon Theakston on 18th July on the opening night of the 11th annual Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate.

The longlist in full:

The Guilty One Lisa Ballantyne (Piatkus)
Finders Keepers Belinda Bauer (Transworld)
Rush Of Blood Mark Billingham (Little Brown)
Dead Scared S J Bolton (Corgi, Transworld)
The Affair Lee Child (Transworld)
A Foreign Country Charles Cumming (Harpercollins)
Safe House Chris Ewan (Faber and Faber)
Not Dead Yet Peter James (Macmillan)
Siege Simon Kernick (Bantam Press)
Prague Fatale Philip Kerr (Quercus)
The Rage Gene Kerrigan (Vintage)
The Dark Winter David Mark (Quercus)
The Lewis Man Peter May (Quercus)
Gods And Beasts Denise Mina (Orion)
Stolen Souls Stuart Neville (Vintage)
Sacrilege S. J. Parris (Harper)
Birthdays for the Dead Stuart MacBride (Harper)
A Dark Redemption Stav Sherez (Faber and Faber)