Waterstone's and WHS lead race for Bookseller Awards

<p>Waterstone&#39;s and W H Smith will slug it out for bookselling supremacy after being nominated for five awards each in this year&#39;s<em> Bookseller</em> Retail Awards. Ten independent bookshops, including a former winner The Torbay Bookshop, have also been nominated for awards. </p><p>Over 100 entries were received for the ten awards open for entry this year. Borders will provide tough competition for Waterstone&#39;s and W H Smith, after being nominated for four awards. Waterstone&#39;s is up against Blackwell&#39;s, Foyles, Borders, and W H Smith for the high street retailer of the year prize. It is also nominated for children&#39;s bookseller of the year, manager of the year, direct to consumer bookseller and best marketing campaign.</p><p>W H Smith&#39;s Christmas &quot;Think!&rdquo; campaign has been nominated for best marketing campaign of the past 12 months. The high street bookseller is also nominated for the manager of the year, general retailer of the year and children&#39;s bookseller awards.</p><p>Six independents will battle to be awarded best indie in the country, including The Mainstreet Trading Company and Simply Books. Four shops have also been chosen in the children&#39;s independent category, including Scotia Books and Jarrold&#39;s Children&#39;s Book Dept.</p><p>Two further awards are announced without shortlists. The award for outstanding contribution to bookselling will go to someone who has consistently worked at building the trade over a number of years. The Bookseller&#39;s bookselling company of the year award will go to the winner of the best high street retailer, general retailer and direct to consumer bookselling company.</p><p>Neill Denny, editor-in-chief of <em>The Bookseller</em>, said: &quot;Despite the challenges facing the retail industry, this year&#39;s entries have shown that retailers have not let standards slip. They have done extremely well to be shortlisted and I wish them all good luck.&quot;</p><p>The Retail Awards will take place on 17th September at the Natural History Museum, west London, and will be hosted by Radio 2 presenter Jeremy Vine. Among this year&#39;s judges are Ottakar&#39;s founder James Heneage and children&#39;s author Anthony Horowitz.<br /><br /><br /><strong>Bertrams Independent Bookseller of the Year </strong><br />* The Torbay Bookshop <br />* Scarthin Books <br />* Volumes <br />* One Tree Books <br />* The Mainstreet Trading Company <br />* Simply Books<br /><br /><strong>The Usborne Children&#39;s Bookseller of the Year </strong><br />* Waterstone&#39;s<br />* W H Smith <br />* Borders<br />* Asda <br /><br /><strong>The Wiley Manager of the Year</strong><br />* Ian Critchley&mdash;Waterstone&#39;s, Liverpool<br />* Jamie Donoghue&mdash;Books by W H Smith, Selfridges, Oxford Street<br />* Robbie Glendinning&mdash;Borders Dundee<br />* Sion Hamilton&mdash;Foyles, Ground Floor Manager, Charing Cross Road<br /><br /><strong>High Street Retailer of the Year</strong><br />* Waterstone&#39;s <br />* Blackwell<br />* Foyles <br />* Borders <br />* W H Smith<br /><br /><strong>Martina Cole General Retailer of the Year</strong><br />* Asda <br />* W H Smith<br /><br /><strong>Direct to Consumer Bookselling Company of the Year</strong><br />* The Book Depository<br />* Play.com <br />* Amazon.co.uk<br />* Waterstone&#39;s<br /><br /><strong>The Nielsen Book Marketing Campaign of the Year</strong><br />* The Torbay Bookshop&mdash;Independent Booksellers Week <br />* Blackwell&mdash;Espresso Book Machine Launch<br />* Waterstone&#39;s&mdash;The Waterstone&#39;s Card<br />* W H Smith&#39;s Christmas Books Campaign 2008 <br />* Borders&mdash;Where&#39;s Wally on Google Earth <br />* Amazon.co.uk<br /><br /><strong>The Walker Books Children&#39;s Independent of the Year</strong><br />* Scotia Books<br />* Children&#39;s Bookshop (Muswell Hill)<br />* The Children&#39;s Bookshop (Edinburgh)<br />* Jarrold&#39;s Children&#39;s Book Dept</p>