Waters  and Guru-Murthy to judge Winton Science Prize

Waters and Guru-Murthy to judge Winton Science Prize

Author Sarah Waters and Channel 4 News presenter Krishnan Guru-Murthy are among the judges for this year’s Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books.

The panel will be chaired by mathematician and Royal Society Fellow Ian Stewart, who co-wrote the Science of Discworld series with Terry Pratchett and Jack Cohen.

Also on the judging panel are science journalist and presenter of BBC Radio 4’s Inside Science Dr Adam Rutherford, electrical engineer Dr Jo Shien Ng, and Guardian Books Editor Claire Armitstead.

The £25,000 Royal Society Prize for Science Books celebrates outstanding popular science books from around the world and is open to authors of science books written for a non-specialist audience.

Waters said: “Although I was very interested in science as a child, I've been more at home, as an adult, with literature and theatre. So I'm not a traditional science buff by any means, but fundamentally I'm still interested in how things work, in systems and in processes, and I’m keen to reconnect with that. I am awed by the range of knowledge that is being brought to the table by my fellow judges, and I'm looking forward to what's sure to be a lively judging process. The great thing about this prize is that it celebrates accessibility as well as expertise, and I think my novelist's perspective will be a very useful one.”

Stewart said: “I’m honoured to have been chosen to chair the Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books judging panel. The Prize is a marvellous way to recognise the achievements of authors who write about science for the general public, as well as emphasise the importance of public engagement with science.”

The shortlist for the Prize will be announced in early August, and the winner at an evening ceremony on 24th September. The winner will receive a cheque for £25,000, with £2,500 awarded to each of the five shortlisted authors.