Warner to chair judges for Man Booker International 2015

Warner to chair judges for Man Booker International 2015

Writer Marina Warner is to chair the 2015 Man Booker International prize. The £60,000 prize, given to a living author in recognition of an achievement in fiction on the world stage, is awarded biennially.

Warner will be joined by novelist Nadeem Aslam, writer and critic Elleke Boehmer, Edwin Frank, the editorial director of the New York Review Classics series, and Wen-chin Ouyang, professor of Arabic and Comparative Literature at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London.

Prize administrator Fiammetta Rocco said the judges on the panel were "steeped in the literature of all seven continents".

In addition, a new council is to be formed this year, made up of past judges and winning authors of the Man Booker and Man Booker International prizes, to act as an informal advisory network for the award. The council will be asked to suggest new judges with international expertise and authors for those judges to consider. The advisory council is being described as an "e-Council", because it will work via email rather than face-to-face meetings.

The award has been made on five occasions, with the 2013 prize going to American author Lydia Davis.