VMC buys Elizabeth Taylor children's book

VMC buys Elizabeth Taylor children's book

Virago Modern Classics has acquired the only children’s book written by novelist Elizabeth Taylor.

Senior editor Donna Coonan acquired UK and Commonwealth rights to Mossy Trotter from Ed Wilson at Johnson and Alcock.

Mossy Trotter was published in one edition, in 1967, “and will be a treat for Taylor’s many fans – and their younger relatives”.

Virago said: “It’s a funny, beautifully observed book, as you would expect from Elizabeth Taylor, in the vein of Just William or Stig of the Dump.

“Taylor perfectly captures the temptations, confusion and terrors of a mischievous eight-year-old boy, and just how illogical, frustrating and inconsistent adults are.”

Virago added three of Taylor’s adult novels to its list at the end of last year.

Mossy Trotter will be published in April 2015.