Vintage launches prize for individual Independent Bookseller of the Year

Vintage launches prize for individual Independent Bookseller of the Year

Vintage is launching a prize for an Independent Bookseller of the Year. The award will be given to the individual who, in the judges’ opinion, has demonstrated the strongest skills in either bookselling, championing books or authors, bringing books to new audiences, serving the community or displaying creative flair. 

All independent booksellers in the UK and Ireland are eligible for the new award, regardless of age and experience. It will launch during Independent Bookshop Week 2018 (16th - 23rd June).

The winning bookseller will receive a cheque for £1,000, and spend a day at Vintage's offices, while the two runners-up will each receive £150. In addition, all three will receive a tailored book recommendation each month for the following year and 5% extra terms off Vintage titles for their shop for the first six months of 2019. 

Nominations can be made from 16th June until 31st August 2018 and will cover work over the previous year. Bookshop managers and Vintage/Penguin Random House staff can put forward as many candidates as they like, explaining why they should receive the award. 

There is no requirement for any special focus on Vintage books, Vintage noted, and those making a nomination are welcome to include any supporting material such as testimonials, photographs and sales data. 

The winner, to be announced on 30th September, will be chosen by Richard Cable, Vintage m.d., Faye Brewster, Vintage deputy m.d., and Rachel Cugnoni, Vintage publishing director and Alan Staton of the Booksellers’ Association.

Cable, m.d. of Vintage, said: "Independent booksellers are hugely important to us at Vintage. We are always looking at ways in which we can recognise the extraordinary support we receive from booksellers across the UK and Ireland.  For the last seven years we have run a highly successful Vintage Independent Bookshop of the Year award and we are now excited to announce a new award which will celebrate an individual bookseller for the first time."

Entries should be filled in on this form and sent to