UK authors up for Astrid Lindgren Prize

<p>UK children&#39;s writers Jacqueline Wilson, Michael Morpurgo, Quentin Blake, David Almond, Diana Wynne Jones, and Shirley Hughes have all been nominated for the world&rsquo;s most lucrative prize for children&rsquo;s and young adult literature&mdash;the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA).</p><p>Also up for the SEK 5m prize (&pound;441,000) are author Aidan Chambers, who is also nominated for his work promoting children&#39;s reading, with his wife Nancy; and children&#39;s literacy expert Margaret Meek Spencer.</p><p>A total of 168 candidates from more than 60 countries have been nominated for the 2010 award; the winner or winners will be announced at the birthplace of Astrid Lindgren in Vimmerby, Sweden, on March 24th 2010.</p><p>ALMA is awarded annually to a single recipient or to several authors, illustrators, oral storytellers <br />or those active in reading promotion. The award is designed to promote interest in children&rsquo;s and young adult literature, and in children&rsquo;s rights, globally. </p><p>&nbsp;</p><p>&nbsp;</p><p>&nbsp;</p>