Two new Don Winslow novels to HC

Two new Don Winslow novels to HC

HarperCollins is to publish two books by New York Times bestselling author Don Winslow.

David Highfill, vice president and executive editor at William Morrow, acquired world rights in several languages to the two books from Shane Salerno at The Story Factory.

The first of the two novels will be published in the UK in summer 2017, but its subject matter is being "kept under wraps" by the publisher. The second will be the final chapter in an "epic" trilogy about the war on drugs. The first books in the trilogy are The Power of the Dog (Arrow) and The Cartel (Arrow).

Highfill said: “Don Winslow is a daring and bravura storyteller, and his work is full of characters and language at once frightening, funny, heartbreaking and wholly original. There is really no one like him, and it’s a huge honour to have the opportunity to work with him.”

Winslow said: “I’m very excited to be working with David Highfill and the entire team at William Morrow/HarperCollins. I have watched closely how strongly they support their authors and how well their books are distributed around the world. These two new books mean a great deal to me and are the product of years of exhaustive research.”  

Winslow has written 19 novels, including Savages, The Winter of Frankie Machine, The Kings of Cool, The Power of the Dog and The Cartel (all Arrow).

Film rights to The Cartel were sold to Twentieth Century Fox in a $6m (£4.6m) deal last year with filmmaker Ridley Scott attached to direct.

In addition to his novels, Winslow has published 14 short stories in anthologies and magazines such as Esquire, The LA Times Magazine and Playboy, and has written commentaries for CNN, The Daily Beast, The Huffington Post, as well a number of major foreign newspapers.

Winslow will also co-author, with Oscar-nominated film director Michael Mann, an "ambitiously scaled" novel featuring two historical figures who "changed the face of organized crime forever", to be published by HarperCollins in 2017.