Twelve picked for "Culture Show" debuts special

Twelve picked for "Culture Show" debuts special

John Llewellyn Rhys Prize-winner Evie Wyld has been picked as one of the 12 writers to be featured in a "Culture Show" special on debut novelists.

Wyld’s After the Fire, A Still Small Voice (Vintage) has been picked alongside Rebecca Hunt’s Mr Chartwell (Fig Tree) and stablemate Samantha Harvey's Orange Prize for New Writers-shortlisted The Wilderness in a list which comprises seven female authors and five male.

Picked by a panel comprising Alex Clark, critic and broadcaster, Janet Lee, editor of  "The Culture Show" and novelists Helen Oyeyemi and Sam Leith, the writers will be featured on "New Novelists: 12 of the Best", to be broadcast on BBC2 at 9 p.m. on 5th March, as part of the broadcaster’s Year of Books.

The list in full:

David Abbott - The Upright Piano Player (MacLehose Press)
Jenn Ashworth - A Kind of Intimacy (Bliss)
Ned Beauman - Boxer Beetle (Sceptre)
Deborah Kay Davies - True Things About Me (Canongate)
Samantha Harvey - In The Wilderness (Vintage)
Adam Haslett - Union Atlantic (Tuskar Rock)
Rebecca Hunt - Mr Chartwell (Fig Tree)
Stephen Kelman - Pigeon English (Bloomsbury)
Jim Powell - The Breaking of Eggs (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
Anna Richards - Little Gods (Picador)
Eleanor Thom - In The Tin-Kin (Gerald Duckworth)
Evie Wyld - After the Fire, A Still Small Voice (Vintage)