Trollope returns to Short Story Award panel

Novelist Joanna Trollope has returned to the judging panel of the £30,000 Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award for the second year in a row, with the submissions  rocess now open.

Also on the panel will be authors Lionel Shriver, Sarah Waters, Andrew O'Hagan, as well as Sunday Times literary editor Andrew Holgate and Matthew Evans, chairman of EFG Private Bank and the non-voting chair of judges.

The prize is open to any novelist or short story writer from around the world who is published in the UK or Ireland. The deadline for submissions is 21st September 2012, and a longlist of 16 will be announced in January. The shortlist will follow in February, with the winner announced on 22nd March at the Sunday Times Oxford Literary Festival. The winner received £30,000, making it the richest prize for a single short story, with each of the five shortlisted authors receiving £1,000.

Trollope said: "I am delighted and honoured to be judging this increasingly prestigious prize for a second year. I was deeply impressed by the quality, variety and courage of the writing entered for the prize this year, and much look forward to seeing what this next year produces."

The prize was launched in 2010, and was last year won by Kevin Barry for his story, "Beer Trip to Llandudno".