Trapeze bags School Run comedy

Trapeze bags School Run comedy

Trapeze is publishing a comedy called The School Run about how far two friends will go to get their child into the perfect school.

For fans of Motherland, Rev and Why Mummy Drinks, Helen Whitaker's novel is pitched as a story that will resonate with all parents who’ve navigated the school submissions process. It was acquired in a one-book deal for UK and Commonwealth rights by editorial director Sam Eades from Sarah Manning at The Bent Agency and will publish in e-book, audio and mass market paperback in August 2019.

Eades praised the author's "fantastic observational eye", "flair for slapstick" and "incredible warmth". Whitaker is a journalist and mum-of-one, living in Walthamstow, whose background extends to having worked as the former entertainment director of Glamour. Currently she is acting deputy editor at British Airways High Life magazine.

Whitaker commented: "Like any new(ish) parent, I am trying to balance the daily challenges of parenting with looking ahead to the next stage, which often leads down a clickhole of stories about what constitutes giving your child 'the best start'. I wanted to write about the lengths parents go to for their children, especially when it comes to navigating the competitive school catchment area, and how 'doing their best' for their children might come at the cost of someone else's child. Or, at the very least, learn the best tricks for when it's time to apply for a primary school place for my son…"