Transworld signs Jasmon debut

Transworld signs Jasmon debut

Transworld is to publish a “spellbinding and charged” debut novel by Sarah Jasmon.

Assistant editor Bella Bosworth bought UK and Commonwealth rights to The Summer of Secrets and one other novel from Carrie Plitt of Conville & Walsh.

The Summer of Secrets tells the story of Helen, a shy 16-year-old whose life is changed forever when the unconventional Dover family moves into an abandoned cottage on the banks of the local canal.

Helen is infatuated, especially with the petulant and charming Victoria, but their summer on the water ends with a terrible tragedy and the Dovers disappear. Thirty years later, Victoria returns.

Jasmon, a graduate of the Creative Writing MA course at Manchester Metropolitan University, lives on a canal boat, which she used as the inspiration for the setting of her novel.

Bosworth said: “The Summer of Secrets is a mesmerisingly atmospheric story that perfectly captures the intensity of a young friendship that threatens to spill over into something more sinister during a long, sultry summer.

Transworld has an impressive track record for launching debut novels to great acclaim, and we look forward to doing so with Sarah’s brilliant novel, which will appeal to readers of Louise Doughty, Liane Moriarty and beautifully written, suspenseful reading-group fiction.”

Plitt said: “I am so pleased to be representing Sarah and this book. It all happened incredibly quickly: a friend met Sarah at a party and sent me her manuscript. From the first page I was completely entranced and I rang her up as soon as I finished. A few weeks later, we had an offer in from Transworld.”

Transworld will publish The Summer of Secrets as a paperback original in August 2015, with Jasmon's second novel published in 2016.