Transworld acquires nostalgic love story Mix Tape for six figures

Transworld acquires nostalgic love story Mix Tape for six figures

Transworld has acquired Jane Sanderson's latest novel, a "nostalgic and romantic" story called Mix Tape pitched as perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Laura Barnett, in a six-figure deal.

Editorial director at Transworld Francesca Best acquired UK and Commonwealth rights in Mix Tape and a second novel by Sanderson from Andrew Gordon at David Higham Associates.

Publishing with Bantam Press in hardback in early 2020, Mix Tape is described as an "absorbing, poignantly nostalgic and romantic" novel that is "packed with great music you want to seek out and listen to".

The novel begins at a party in Sheffield in 1978, when Alison and Dan are teenagers beginning a fledgling relationship. Now, in the present day, they’re both married with children and leading very different lives: Dan is a music journalist in Edinburgh and Alison an acclaimed writer in Australia. As the years passed, they tried to forget each other; but why Alison disappeared that summer in 1979, Dan never knew. Then, by chance, they reconnect. And what better way to start a conversation than exchanging the songs they used to love - building a mix tape of their lives and rekindling their own lost love story.

Best said she fell in love with Mix Tape from the very first page, calling it "romantic yet realistic". She added: "The voices and characterisation feel incredibly assured – and each storyline, whether it’s Dan in Edinburgh, Alison in Adelaide or the late 70s to early 80s in Sheffield, is richly detailed and utterly enthralling. It’s romantic yet realistic, and there’s a lovely nostalgic feel to the book. Plus it’s packed with great music you want to seek out and listen to."

Sanderson is the author of the Netherwood trilogy, published by Sphere, and This Much is True, published by Orion. She has also worked as a newspaper journalist and producer for BBC Radio 4, where she worked on "The World at One" and on "Woman’s Hour".

Of finding a home for her latest novel with Penguin Random House, she commented: "I know that in Transworld I’ve found the perfect home for Mix Tape – the enthusiasm of the entire team for my novel has been utterly heartwarming, and I’m extremely happy to have joined their illustrious list of authors."