Tor buys fantasy debut

Tor buys fantasy debut

Waterstones staffer Lucy Hounsom, who works in events for the chain, has just had her debut fantasy novel Starborn, and a sequel, acquired by Pan Macmillan’s Tor imprint.  

Senior Commissioning Editor Bella Pagan concluded the deal for world rights with Veronique Baxter at David Higham for publication in spring 2015.  

Starborn is described as "a vividly imagined world where a strong female protagonist stumbles upon hidden magic", and is said to be idea for fans of Trudi Canavan, David Eddings and Karen Miller.

Pagan called the novel "fantasy with a lot of heart and great pace".

Hounsom said: “It’s a huge honour to share space with some of the greatest names in genre fiction. Starborn is the culmination of my abiding love for fantasy and it couldn’t have found a more perfect home.”