Three for Bloodaxe on T S Eliot Prize shortlist

Three for Bloodaxe on T S Eliot Prize shortlist

Bloodaxe has three authors shortlisted for the £20,000 2015 T S Eliot Prize: Scots poet Tracey Herd for Not in this World, Selima Hill for Jutland, and Rebecca Perry for her début collection Beauty/Beauty.

Meanwhile Carcanet has two authors on the shortlist: Tim Liardet for The World Before Snow and Australian poet Les Murray for Waiting for the Past. Also shortlisted are Mark Doty, an American, for Deep Lane (Cape Poetry), Sarah Howe for her first collection Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus), Sean O'Brien for The Beautiful Librarians (Picador), Don Paterson for 40 Sonnets (Faber) and Jamaican Claudia Rankine for Citizen: An American Lyric (Penguin).

Pascale Petit, chair of the judges, said: "This is a fantastic year for poetry, with the highest amount of entries submitted in the history of the prize, and an exceptional number of outstanding collections, including many dazzling debuts. This made our task of choosing the shortlist tricky – many that didn't make it are books we love. But we were unanimous about our final list, the books my distinguished fellow judges and I picked all awed and excited us with their ambition, verve and technical mastery."

Also judging were Kei Miller and Ahren Warner.

The T S Eliot Prize Readings will take place on Sunday 10th January 2016 and the prize will be awarded the next day (11th).

Shortlisted poets each receive £1,500.

The T S Eliot Estate increased its support last year to become the sole supporter of the Prize.

The 2014 winner was David Harsent for his collection Fire Songs (Faber).