Ten-city tour for T S Eliot Prize

Ten-city tour for T S Eliot Prize

The Poetry Book Society is holding a 10-venue tour to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the TS Eliot Prize for poetry.

The Poetry Book Society tour will see readings from prominent poets who have been shortlisted for the prize, including John Burnside, Don Paterson and Kathleen Jamie. It will begin on 17th September in Portsmouth, before moving to Winchester, Oldham, Halifax, Ludlow, Glasgow, Norwich, Liverpool, Durham and Sheffield, with performances at schools, libraries and festivals.

First launched in 1993, the T S Eliot Prize itself marked the 40th anniversary of the foundation of the Poetry Book Society by TS Eliot and friends. The Poetry Book Society has an international membership, providing members with selected new poetry books as well as running a poetry store and events.

The 2013 TS Eliot Prize shortlist will be announced on 24th October, with readings from shortlisted poets happening on 12th January at the Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall, and the winner announced the following day.

Sharon Olds won the 2012 prize with Stag's Leap (Jonathan Cape).