Swansea University to sponsor Dylan Thomas Prize

Swansea University has been announced as the new sponsor of the Dylan Thomas Prize, with a new panel of judges also revealed for the 2013 award.

The annual prize of £30,000 is given each year to a work in English by an author under 30 from anywhere around the world.

The new sponsor and judges were unveiled at an event at the Hay Festival, with its founder Peter Florence taking one of the spots on the judging panel. The other judges will be novelist and columnist Allison Pearson,singer and radio DJ Cerys Matthews, journalist and author Carolyn Hitt, artist Kim Howells, critic Nicholas Wroe, poet and academic Kurt Heinzelman and chairman of the Dylan Thomas Prize Peter Stead.

John Spurr, head of arts and humanities at Swansea University, said: "The Dylan Thomas Prize and Swansea University are natural partners, both rooted in a strong local tradition but with global ambitions. Thanks to our association with the Prize, we look forward to seeing more of the world's finest young writers in Swansea, working with our creative writers and our students: this is all about celebrating and inspiring excellence in young people."

The deadline for entries for this year¹s prize in 28th June.