Station Eleven wins Arthur C Clarke

Station Eleven wins Arthur C Clarke

Emily St John Mandel’s Station Eleven (Picador) has won the Arthur C Clarke Award.

The prize for science fiction literature this year stood at £2,015.

Mandel’s book is a dual narrative, with one strand following the outbreak of a flu that wipes out 99% of the world’s population, and the other looking at survivors of the flu 20 years later. The prize was accepted by on Mandel’s behalf by her editor at Picador, Sophie Jonathan.

Chair of the judges Andrew M Butler said: “While many post-apocalypse novels focus on the survival of humanity, Station Eleven focuses instead on the survival of our culture, with the novel becoming an elegy for the hyperglobalised present.”

At the ceremony award director Tom Hunter commented on the recent controversy over the Hugo awards, saying it was “important to remember that prizes like the Clarke Award are first and foremost celebrations”.

“We celebrate new books and new writers, but most of all we celebrate alongside all the readers and lovers of stories who are given a unique invitation to encounter something new, something strange and something wonderful whenever a new shortlist is announced,” he said. “The love of books and the sharing of stories is the true legacy we should aim to create.”

The judging panel for this year’s Arthur C Clarke Award were Duncan Lawie and Nicholas Whyte from the British Science Fiction Association, Sarah Brown and Lesley Hall from the Science Fiction Foundation, and Leila Abu El Hawa of the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival.