S&S publishes husband and wife team crime writers

S&S publishes husband and wife team crime writers

Author RJ Bailey, whose book Safe from Harm was published in January, has been revealed to be the pseudonym for husband and wife team Robert and Deborah Ryan.

The revelation was made by Simon & Schuster editorial director Jo Dickinson at the inaugural crime showcase last week.

Safe from Harm is a "fast-paced, twisty thriller" and is the first novel in a new series. It has sold 1,243 copies for £5,093 since its release according to Nielsen.

This is not the only husband and wife team Simon & Schuster has on its books. The publisher has recently acquired a mystery series by MB Vincent, made up of novelist Juliet Ashton and her composer husband Matthew.

Simon & Schuster UK acquired three books by MB Vincent, and will launch the Jess Castle Mysteries in Autumn 2018. Dickinson acquired World rights.

Book One introduces academic-turned-detective Jess Castle, who has been forced to return home to her father in Castle Kidbury under a cloud of shame. But her arrival coincides with a horrific murder, and she is thrown headlong into the middle of the mystery.

Vincent said: "Imagine the perfect English town. Cricket on the green. Real ale in the pub. A disembowelled corpse in the market square. The world of Jess Castle has been taking shape at the back of our minds for years now, and it's exciting for her to suddenly spring to life with Simon & Schuster her perfect publishing partner."

Dickinson said: "I loved the premise for this series and the writing had me gripped from page one. The Jess Castle Mysteries should appeal to readers of MC Beaton or Agatha Christie, or anyone who has watched Midsomer Murders, but it also has a strong modernity to it, which gives it an added edge, plus great humour and a very memorable lead character. We will publish a book a year and we can’t wait to get started."