Six finalists chosen for Costa Short Story Award

Six finalists chosen for Costa Short Story Award

Two of the writers shortlisted for last year's Costa Short Story Award have made the final six again for this year's prize.

Sheila Llewellyn and Angela Readman, both shortlisted in 2012, are finalists once more. Llewellyn, selected for The Papakh Hat, is a former British Council worker who is currently completing a PhD in creative writing. Reedman, chosen for The Keeper of the Jackalopes, has had pieces featured in anthologies and won the Essex Poetry Prize.

Also shortlisted are journalist and writer Tony Bagley for The Forgiveness Thing, playwright Clare Chandler for The Gun Shearer, BBC National Short Story Award finalist Erin Soros for Still Water, BC, and former lawyer Kit de Waal for The Old Man and The Suit.

Stories submitted for the prize are judged anonymously. This year a judging panel made up of Richard Beard, Fanny Blake, Victoria Hislop and Simon Trewin selected the six finalists from 1,400 entries.

The final six are now made available to download online, with the public able to vote for their favourite. The writer of the story which receives the most votes will win £3,500 at the Costa Book Awards ceremony, with £1,500 going to the second place and £500 to third place.

The winner of the inaugural prize in 2012 was former prison manager Avril Joy, who is now a full-time writer.