Shortlist revealed for Bloomsbury/NLT prize

Shortlist revealed for Bloomsbury/NLT prize

Bloomsbury and the National Literacy Trust have shortlisted six writers for a competition to find unpublished children’s authors.

Bloomsbury received 400 entries to this year’s New Children’s Author Prize, launched last year, which asks aspiring authors to pay £30 to enter in order to raise money for the NLT.

A judging panel consisting of author Katherine Rundell, journalist Nicolette Jones, NLT director Jonathan Douglas, and Bloomsbury Children’s publishing director Rebecca McNally, has shortlisted six authors: Geoff Bagwell, Camilla Chester, Emma, Cox Julia Davenport, Treasa Reilly and Jamie Smith.

“The standard of all the entries was incredibly high, and in the short-listed authors we have some excellent potential for some truly great children’s literature,” said Douglas. “Just as importantly, the prize has raised a fantastic amount for the National Literacy Trust, which will help us to continue our work improving the literacy of children across the country, and inspiring a love of reading.”

Bagwell’s story "Don’t Look Back" is about a teenage boy who gets a phone call from someone threatening to kill him, while "Jarred Dreams" by Chester is about a 12-year-old girl who meets the Dream Thief.

"Malkin Moonlight" by Cox is about a cat who loses his friend, "The Siege of Mafeking Street" by Davenport tells the story of a boy whose house is threatened with demolition, and "Gem and Ini" by Treasa Reilly is a science fiction tale. Finally, "Scaled" by Smith is about two children who live in a village on the back of a gigantic creature.

The winning novel will be launched in May.