Shortlist for Kim Scott Walwyn Prize revealed

Editors and marketing and publicity managers from Little, Brown, Random House and  indies, Saqi Books and Carcanet Press, have made the shortlist for the 2012 Kim Scott Walwyn Prize.

The award recognises promise among women in the industry who have worked in publishing in the UK for up to seven years, and is sponsored by the Society of Young Publishers and administered by Booktrust.

The shortlist, announced at the London Book Fair today (18th April) comprises Donna Condon, senior commissioning editor at Piatkus, Little, Brown; Eleanor Crawforth, editor and sales and marketing manager at Carcanet Press; Bethan Jones, head of Yellow Jersey Press/crime fiction and senior publicity manager at Chatto and Windus, Harvill Secker and Square Peg; and Rukhsana Yasmin, commissioning editor at Westbourne Press and Telegram Books at Saqi Books.

Committee chair Kate Jury said: "As judges we have been struck by the quality, commitment and diversity of the applicants—they have come from major commercial houses and small niche companies; from marketing, sales, PR, and editorial, often combining several of these roles to develop a breadth of experience which is impressive. Nearly all of the candidates have been exploring new media as ways of reaching readers."

The winner of the £1,000 prize will be announced on 9th May at the Free Word Centre in north London. The winner also wins a two-day course at the Publishing Training Centre, with each woman on the shortlist winning a one-day course. Last year's winner was Kay Peddle, now editor at The Bodley Head.

The prize was founded in honour of Kim Scott Walwyn, a publishing director at Oxford University Press, who died in 2002 at the age of 45.