Self-published Sherratt joins CWA longlist

Self-published Sherratt joins CWA longlist

Self-published turned Amazon Publishing author Mel Sherratt joins writers including MC Beaton and Mari Hannah on the longlist for the CWA 2014 Dagger in the Library Award.

For the first time the longlist for the award, sponsored by Penguin Random House’s crime community Dead Good, has been compiled by readers, who were asked to vote online for their three favourite crime authors.

The award is given for a writer’s whole body of work to date, rather than a single title.

A total of 1,384 people voted for 636 different authors.

Joining Sherratt, Beaton, who is published by Constable & Robinson, and Hannah, published by Pan, on the list are Tony Black (Black and White Publishing), Sharon Bolton (Transworld), Elly Griffiths (Quercus), James Oswald (Michael Joseph), Phil Rickman (Corvus), Leigh Russell (No Exit Press) and Neil White (Sphere).

The shortlist will be decided by a panel of judges including previous winner Steve Mosby, CWA Director Lucy Santos, and a group of UK librarians.

Mosby said: “Winning the Dagger in the Library in 2012 meant the world to me. Not only is it an award for a body of work, it's voted on by librarians, so to win was a huge honour. It's an equal honour to be invited back as one of the judges, and I can't wait to read this year's long list."

The shortlist will be revealed on Monday 3rd November with the winner announced at an event in Foyles, Charing Cross Road at the end of November.