Self-published Chambers on Kitschies shortlist

Self-published Chambers on Kitschies shortlist

A novel self-published following a Kickstarter campaign is competing against books from Jonathan Cape and Blackfriars in the best debut novel category at the Kitschies.

The Kitschies, which covers novels containing elements of the speculative and fantastic, honours writing in four categories.

Becky Chambers’ The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet is the first self-published novel to make the shortlist for the Kitschies. It will compete in The Golden Tentacle category for best debut against Viper Wine by Hermione Eyre (Jonathan Cape); The Girl in the Road by Monica Byrne (Blackfriars); Memory of Water by Emmi Itäranta (Voyager); and The People in the Trees by Hanya Yanagihara (Atlantic Books).

The Red Tentacle award for best novel sees independent publisher NewCon Press’ The Race by Nina Allen go up against Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor (Hodder & Stoughton); Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith (Egmont); The Peripheral by William Gibson (Viking) and The Way Inn by Will Wiles (4th Estate).

The Inky Tentacle award for cover art is between The Ghost of the Mary Celeste by Valerie Martin, design by Steve Marking  (Weidenfeld & Nicolson); A Man Lies Dreaming by Lavie Tidhar, cover by Ben Summers (Hodder & Stoughton); Through the Woods by Emily Carroll, cover by Emily Carroll and Sonja Chaghatzbanian (Faber); The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber, cover by Rafaela Romaya and Yehring Tong (Canongate); and Tigerman by Nick Harkaway, cover by Glenn O'Neill (William Heinemann).

The final award is the Invisible Tentacle for natively digital fiction. The shortlist is made up of  Twitter fiction @echovirus12, curated by Jeff Noon (@jeffnoon), Ed (@3dgriffiths), James Knight (@badbadpoet), violet sprite (@gadgetgreen), Richard Biddle (@littledeaths68), Mina Polen (@polen), Uel Aramchek (@ThePatanoiac), Graham Walsh (@t_i_s_u), and Vapour Vox (@Wrong_Triangle); Kentucky Route Zero, Act III, by Cardboard Computer; 80 Days, by Inkle Studios; and Sailor's Dream by Simogo.

The winners will be announced in a ceremony at the Seven Dials Club on 4th March, and receive a total of £2,500 in prize money, as well as one of the prize’s Tentacle trophies.