School Librarian of the Year honour list unveiled

School Librarian of the Year honour list unveiled

Three librarians are in the running for this year’s School Librarian of the Year Award, which celebrates outstanding work in school libraries.

The three librarians who have made the “honour” list: are Ros Harding, head librarian at The King’s School Chester; Chantal Kelleher, learning resource centre manager at Herne Bay High School; and Helen Cleaves, librarian and learning resources manager at Kingston Grammar School.

The School Libraries Association, which runs the award, says the three librarians on the shortlist have made a “huge” difference the pupils they work with, by igniting their passion for reading as well as teaching them essential learning skills.

Sue Bastone, chair of the selection committee, said: “The Honour List this year are a remarkable set of librarians.  They have come through from an extremely strong field and the judges have had very difficult decisions at each stage.  These school librarians are leaders in the field and exemplars for the profession.”

The winner will be announced on 27th June at a ceremony in London by author Sara Barnard, who won this year’s YA Book Prize.

The award is sponsored by Macmillan Children's Books and the Foyle Foundation and previous winners include Emma Suffield, Lucas Maxwell, Amy McKay and Annie Brady.