Shortlisted school librarians have made 'huge difference'

Shortlisted school librarians have made 'huge difference'

Librarians from Dublin, Reading and Shetland are on the shortlist for this year’s School Librarian of the Year Award, organised by the School Library Association (SLA).

Three librarians are shortlisted this year: Annie Brady at St. Paul’s CBS Secondary School, an inner city secondary school in Dublin with 250 pupils; Chris Routh at Leighton Park School, a Quaker independent school in Reading with 440 day and boarding students aged 11-18; and Jane Spall at Aith Junior High School in Shetland with 182 students from nursery to 16 years old.

The SLA said all three librarians have made a “huge difference” to their pupils by igniting a passion for reading, teaching essential skills and supporting staff.

Ginette Doyle, chair of the selection committee, said: “2015 has seen another group of excellent librarians for us to judge. All of them demonstrate best practice in their different ways. With so many school librarians under threat, it is good to see that in some areas their value is appreciated. The librarians are three remarkable women who provide the students in their school with skills that will last a lifetime.”

Biographies of the shortlisted librarians will go live on the SLA website from the 14th September.

The winner will then be announced at a ceremony at the Royal Society of Arts in London on 5th October.

Liz Millett, a librarian at Weatherfield Academy in Dunstable, won the award last year.