Scholastic UK to publish new series by Amy Timberlake and Jon Klassen

Scholastic UK to publish new series by Amy Timberlake and Jon Klassen

Scholastic UK has acquired three books in the Skunk and Badger series by author Amy Timberlake and illustrator Jon Klassen.

Linas Alsenas, executive editor, acquired UK rights from Kendra Poster at Workman. The first book, Skunk and Badger, will be published in hardback in September 2020. 

Timberlake received the Newbery Honor and the Edgar Award for One Came Home. Klassen is the author and illustrator of I Want My Hat Back, a New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book of 2011.

Skunk and Badger is a tale of unexpected friendship between a skunk and a badger who become roommates. The first book will be a "reminder that sometimes opposites are destined to be friends". The series is marketed as perfect for fans of Paddington Bear. 

Linas Alsenas said: "The dream team of highly acclaimed storysmith Amy Timberlake and iconic illustrator Jon Klassen have pulled together a future classic. Unexpected housemates Skunk and Badger will delight, surprise and enchant children everywhere, and we couldn’t be more proud to feature this trilogy on the Scholastic list."