Sad and literary debut for Heinemann

<p>Jason Arthur at Wm Heinemann has bought a novel by Keith Gessen, founder of the US literary magazine n+1.

Arthur described Gessen's All the Sad Young Literary Men, about graduates struggling to cope with the adult world, as "one of the most exciting books I've read in a very long time . . . An intelligent debut in the tradition of Saul Bellow and Philip Roth."

Wm Heinemann has UK and Commonwealth rights through Sarah Chalfant at Andrew Wylie, and will publish in February 2007.</p>

This is subscriber-only content

Not a subscriber? Get unrestricted access to all the news, charts, previews, data & analysis by subscribing from as little as £3 per week.


Why Subscribe?

Every issue of The Bookseller magazine

Unlimited access to thebookseller.com (single user)

The Bookseller e-edition app for tablet and mobile

Subscriber-only newsletters

Twice yearly Buyer's Guides worth £50

Discounts on The Bookseller Awards and Conferences

Click here to subscribe now