RoNA Romantic Novel of the Year shortlists

RoNA Romantic Novel of the Year shortlists

Katie Fforde (pictured), Jenny Colgan and Kate Morton are among the authors featuring on the category shortlists for the RoNA awards.

Six authors have been shortlisted for each of the five categories - contemporary romantic novel, epic romantic novel, historical romantic novel, romantic comedy novel and young adult romantic novel - as well as for the RoNA Rose Award, which recognises the best in category/series and shorter romances that focus on a developing love affair between the hero and heroine.

RNA chair Annie Ashurst said: "We exist to encourage good writing of romantic fiction in all its many guises. We're delighted that so many publishers took the opportunity to put forward their authors for these prestigious awards. And we are extraordinarily proud of our shortlisted authors-they're all winners in our book."

The category award and RoNA Rose award winner will be announced by Judy Finnigan and Richard Madeley at the RAF Club in central London on 26th February. The overall winner of the RoNA Romantic Novel of the Year award will be announced on 16th May.

The full shortlists are:

The Contemporary Romantic Novel category:

Katie Fforde, Recipe for Love, Arrow
Veronica Henry, The Long Weekend, Orion
Mhairi McFarlane, You Had Me At Hello, Avon
Monica McInerny, The House of Memories, Pan Macmillan
Sue Moorcroft, Dream a Little Dream, Choc Lit
Polly Williams, The Angel at No. 33, Headline
The Epic Romantic Novel category:

Rowan Coleman, Dearest Rose, Arrow
Dilly Court, The Lady's Maid, Arrow
Madeline Miller, The Song of Achilles, Bloomsbury
Kate Morton, The Secret Keeper, Pan Macmillan
Gill Paul, Women and Children First, Avon
Liz Trenow, The Last Telegram, Avon
The Historical Romantic Novel category:

Charlotte Betts, The Apothecary's Daughter, Piatkus (Little, Brown)
Christina Courtenay, The Silent Touch of Shadows, Choc Lit
Kate Furnivall, The White Pearl, Sphere (Little, Brown)
Pamela Hartshorne, Time's Echo, Pan Macmillan
Susanna Kearsley, The Rose Garden, Allison & Busby
Mary Nichols, The Kirilov Star, Allison & Busby
The Romantic Comedy Novel:

Jenny Colgan, Welcome to Rosie Hopkin's Sweetshop of Dreams, Sphere (Little, Brown)
Victoria Connelly, The Runaway Actress, Avon
Jane Costello, All the Single Ladies, Simon & Schuster UK
Nicola Doherty, The Out of Office Girl, Headline
Belinda Jones, Winter Wonderland, Hodder & Stoughton
Jane Wenham-Jones, Prime Time, Accent Press Ltd.
The Young Adult Romantic Novel:

Jo Cotterill, Sweet Hearts: Model Behaviour, Red Fox (RHCP)
Laura Jarratt, Skin Deep, Electric Monkey/Egmont
Marie-Louise Jensen, The Girl in the Mask, OUP
Victoria Lamb, Witchstruck, Corgi (RHCP)
Sarra Manning, Adorkable, Atom (Little, Brown)
Susan Waggoner, Neptune's Tears, Piccadilly Press

The RoNA Rose Award:

Fiona Harper, Always the Best Man, Harlequin Mills & Boon Riva
Sarah Mallory, Beneath the Major's Scars, Harlequin Historical
Heidi Rice, The Good, the Bad and the Wild, Harlequin Mills & Boon Riva
Carol Townend, Betrothed to the Barbarian, Harlequin Historical
Scarlet Wilson, West Wing to Maternity Wing, Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical
Scarlet Wilson, Her Christmas Eve Diamond, Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical