Robinson, Gleeson and McGregor to judge Rathbones Folio Prize

Robinson, Gleeson and McGregor to judge Rathbones Folio Prize

The T S Eliot Prize-winning poet Roger Robinson, Irish writer and broadcaster Sinéad Gleeson and novelist Jon McGregor have been announced as judges for the 2021 Rathbones Folio Prize.

The £30,000 Prize, known as the “writers’ prize”, rewards the best work of literature of the year regardless of form.

In March, the Mexican novelist and essayist Valeria Luisella was awarded the 2020 Rathbones Folio Prize for her a "fiercely imaginative"  autobiographical work of fiction Lost Children Archive (4th Estate). The 2021 shortlist will be announced in February, and the prize ceremony and events—in a physical/digital hybrid form—will take place in March. 

News of the judges also comes as the prize announces the mentors who will work on its Folio academy scheme. The scheme pairs four students from disadvantaged backgrounds with four mentors, who are members of The Folio Academy, for one-to-one creative writing tutoring over the course of a year.

For 2021, the mentors will be Raymond Antrobus, winner of the 2019 prize and the Sunday Times/University of Warwick Young Writer of the Year; Vahni Capildeo, winner of the 2016 Forward Prize; poet and non-fiction writer Paul Farley, who also chairs this year's judges; and author and leader of the Octavia Poetry Collective for Women of Colour, Rachel Long. 

The mentorships programme was launched in 2018 in partnership with First Story, a leading creative writing charity.