RNA shortlists reflect 'wonderful diversity' of genre

RNA shortlists reflect 'wonderful diversity' of genre

Romantic fiction bestsellers including Katie Fforde, Freya North and Jill Mansell have all made the shortlists for the Romantic Novelists' Association's Awards 2012, with Michael Arditti the only male nominee.

Arditti's novel Jubilate, published by Arcadia Books, has been shortlisted in the Epic Romantic Novel category, alongside books by Ruth Hamilton, Deborah Lawrenson, Rosie Thomas and Betsy Tobin.

The six-strong shortlist for the Contemporary Romantic Novel award pits Jill Mansell's  To the Moon and Back (Headline) against Freya North's Chances (HarperCollins) and Katie Fforde's Summer of Love (Arrow), as well as indie publisher Choc Lit's The Untied Kingdom by Kate Johnson, Miranda Dickinson's It Started With a Kiss (Avon) and Pan Macmillan's Christmas at Tiffany's by Karen Swan.

The Historical Romantic Novel shortlist also features a Choc Lit title, Highland Storms by Christina Courtenay, with the indie publisher's Please Don't Stop the Music by Jane Lovering shortlisted in the Romantic Comedy Novel category. The Young Adult Romantic Novel category features two books from Piccadilly Press, Dark Ride by Caroline Green and My So-Called Phantom Lovelife by Tamsyn Murray, as well as Pan Macmillan's Artichoke Hearts by Sita Brahmachari, and Angel Fire by L A Weatherley published by Usborne.

RNA chair Annie Ashurst said: "The 2012 awards reflect the wonderful quality and diversity of the world of romantic fiction. We are immensely proud of our shortlisted authors and to us, the RNA, they are all winners."

The awards will be held at One Whitehall Place on 5th March, with each category winner then going on to form the shortlist for the Romantic Novel of the Year Award, to be announced on 17th May. The RoNA Rose Award will also be announced at the event, with the shortlist dominated by five Mills & Boon titles, and one from Robert Hale. The Harry Bowling Prize for unpublished authors will also be awarded. Members of the public can vote for their favourite book on www.romanticnovelistsassociation.org, with the awards supported by website www.rna-awards.com

The full shortlists are as follows:

Contemporary Romantic Novel

It Started with a Kiss            Miranda Dickinson         (Avon)
Summer of Love             Katie Fforde             (Arrow)
The Untied Kingdom            Kate Johnson             (Choc Lit)
To the Moon and Back            Jill Mansell             (Headline)
Chances                 Freya North             (HarperCollins)
Christmas at Tiffany’s            Karen Swan             (Pan Macmillan)

Epic Romantic Novel

Jubilate                Michael Arditti            (Arcadia Books)
That Liverpool Girl             Ruth Hamilton             (Pan Macmillan)
The Lantern                Deborah Lawrenson         (Orion)
The Kashmir Shawl            Rosie Thomas            (HarperCollins)
Crimson China                Betsy Tobin             (Short Books)

Historical Romantic Novel

Highland Storms             Christina Courtenay        (Choc Lit)
The Noble Assassin             Christie Dickason         (HarperCollins)
Daughter of Siena             Marina Foriato            (John Murray)
Perhaps Tomorrow             Jean Fullerton            (Orion)
A Gathering Storm             Rachel Hore            (Simon & Schuster)

Romantic Comedy Novel

The Look of Love            Judy Astley             (Transworld)
Please Don’t Stop the Music        Jane Lovering             (Choc Lit)
Wrapped up in You            Carole Matthews         (Sphere)
Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe        Hazel Osmond         (Quercus)
Lizzy Harrison Loses Control        Pippa Wright             (Pan Macmillan)

Young Adult Romantic Novel

Artichoke Hearts            Sita Brahmachari         (Pan Macmillan)
Dark Ride                Caroline Green         (Piccadilly Press)
My So-called Phantom Lovelife    Tamsyn Murray         (Piccadilly Press)
Angel Fire                 L. A. Weatherley         (Usborne)

The RoNA Rose Award

Flirting with Italian            Liz Fielding             (Mills & Boon)
A Christmas Knight            Kate Hardy            (Mills & Boon)
Ordinary Girl in a Tiara        Jessica Hart             (Mills & Boon)
The Kydd Inheritance            Jan Jones             (Robert Hale)
The Dangerous Lord Darrington    Sarah Mallory             (Mills & Boon)
Winning the War Hero’s Heart        Mary Nichols             (Mills & Boon)

The Harry Bowling Prize

Child Pretending             Sheila Bugler
Sweeping Up The Village        Bren Gosling
A Dark Flowering             Natalie Lloyd-Evans
Island Of Dreams             Aline P’Nina Tayar
The Benjamin Exhibition         Simon Van der Velde