Rider triumphs in three-way auction for Munro's memoir

Rider triumphs in three-way auction for Munro's memoir

Ebury imprint Rider has won a three-way auction for The Ponies at the Edge of the World, a "stunning" memoir from Catherine Munro on her search for belonging on the Shetland Islands. 

Editor Bianca Bexton acquired UK and Commonwealth rights from Jenny Brown at Jenny Brown Associates. Rider will publish in hardback on 2nd June 2022. 

The synopsis reads: "Munro transforms her life when she ups sticks and moves to the tiny island of Whalsay as part of her PhD, studying the hardy ponies that inhabit this rugged and remote landscape. Over the course of a year, she experiences the uncertainty of life as an outsider, devastating loss and the harsh nature of this wild land. Yet through it all, she finds comfort and hope through the people and animals of Shetland who help her find the sense of home she has always been looking for. This is a heart-warming and uplifting story about the incredible healing that comes from our connection to nature and each other."

Bexton said: "I’m thrilled to be welcoming Catherine to the list with her wonderful first book. The Ponies at the Edge of the World is a timeless story of finding your place in life set in the stunning landscapes of Shetland. It is a gorgeous piece of escapism for anyone yearning for a gentler pace of life and a real hymn to the comfort and healing we can find in the people, places and animals closest to us. A perfect read for fans of Raynor Winn, Amy Liptrot and Helen Macdonald."

Munro commented: "I am delighted to be publishing my book with Rider. It is wonderful to be able to share the stories of the intertwined lives of people and ponies in Shetland and my own journey of finding a sense of home there."